Hippie beauty consultation

Sequoia Beauty products

Sequoia Beauty products

I just got schooled by local beauty indie darling Sequoia Beauty. I visit Laurel’s (owner) stand at the Lake Merritt farmers market every few months to replenish my supply of her fabulous organic facial serum. Every time I go back I try something new. This month I purchased the “purify & release” facial cleanser and the lovely “lavender lip healer” lip balm. Laurel always throws in personalized samples based on our convo, so this month I’m testing out the face and body “purity balm“. I’m sure once I reach the bottom of my little sample I’ll be back at Laurel’s stand in five or six Saturday’s to purchase the real thing (her samples stretch a long way, as do the regular sized bottles).

This month I actually took advantage of her free onsite beauty consultation. It’s winter, so my sensitive skin feels dry and allergies are acting up. I usually use the “nourish” facial serum, but I’m trying out the “anti-inflammatory serum” to combat the redness and dry patches. Here’s where I got my mind blown: during the consultation I told Laurel that I use Josie Maran SPF along with the serum for protection and extra moisture. She gave me this sideways look like she had something to say, but didn’t want to hurt my feelings. A slightly sweeter look than the appalling, embarrassed one someone gives you when a morsel of food is stuck in your teeth. She told me that contrary to what ill informed doctors, retailers, and beauty magazines say, most SPF (sun protection factor) products have major toxins. Laurel’s research for Sequoia Beauty found one or two SPF products without toxins, but were harsh on skin. The raspberry seed in the “anti-inflamatory serum” is a natural SPF. I haven’t done the research myself, but Sequoia Beauty products have been good to me. I trust the advice of someone who actually grows the ingredients in her garden, brews and uses the products herself.

You can find this beauty indieDarling almost every Saturday at the Lake Merritt farmers market.

2 thoughts on “Hippie beauty consultation

  1. I love the name of your blog and what I have seen of it thus far! The background, the whole design and I am sure you are going to have lots of good advice (judging from this first post.) Thank you for sharing! So glad I just found you!

Thoughts?

